What RAID level is best for my application?

To maximize the performance of a volume group, you must select the appropriate RAID level. You can determine the appropriate RAID level by knowing the read and write percentages for the applications that are accessing the volume group. Use the Performance page to obtain these percentages.

RAID levels and application performance

RAID relies on a series of configurations, called levels, to determine how user and redundancy data is written and retrieved from the drives. Each RAID level provides different performance features. Applications with a high read percentage will perform well using RAID 5 volumes or RAID 6 volumes because of the outstanding read performance of the RAID 5 and RAID 6 configurations.

Applications with a low read percentage (write-intensive) do not perform as well on RAID 5 volumes or RAID 6 volumes. The degraded performance is the result of the way that a controller writes data and redundancy data to the drives in a RAID 5 volume group or a RAID 6 volume group.

Select a RAID level based on the following information.


RAID 1 or RAID 10



Note: You cannot change the RAID level of a pool. The user interface automatically configures pools as RAID 6.

RAID levels and data protection

RAID 1, RAID 5, and RAID 6 write redundancy data to the drive media for fault tolerance. The redundancy data might be a copy of the data (mirrored) or an error-correcting code derived from the data. You can use the redundancy data to quickly reconstruct information on a replacement drive if a drive fails.

You configure a single RAID level across a single volume group. All redundancy data for that volume group is stored within the volume group. The capacity of the volume group is the aggregate capacity of the member drives minus the capacity reserved for redundancy data. The amount of capacity needed for redundancy depends on the RAID level used.